The Republic of Ireland Ladies Snooker Association current National Champion and Number 1 Sandra Bryan, continued her winning form by taking the first RILSA Ranking event, The Ladies Griffith Cup at Joey’s Snooker Club, Dublin on Saturday 25th October by winning on the final black in the final frame against Ireland’s Number 2 Ranked player Annette Newman.  The standard of play in the final was excellent with the match levelled at 1-1 , you could not pick a winner as the 3rd and final frame started.  Both players were on form and Annette took on a difficult pink to win the match, but was very unfortunate to go in off, leaving Sandra a chance to take the frame and match, which she did with a good pot on both pink and black.  Congratulations to Sandra on her win and to Annette on an excellent performance.  Well done to Margaret  and Emirjeta on reaching the semis once again and maintaining their place in the top 4.  It must be said that everyone who took part had a great days snooker and the atmosphere at the club was fantastic, so a big thank you and well done to one and all for making ladies snooker such a great success.  Thanks to Margaret Browne for refereeing the final.

RILSA Ranking 1 Group 2014 4RILSA Ranking 1 Group 2014 2

The Intermediate Ranking Event, saw newcomers Ronda Sheldreck from Fairview take on Englentina Doda from the CBS Westland Row in another great final.  Ronda took the match on the colours.  Congratulations to Ronda and to Englentina on a great performance.  Thanks to Derek Fagan and Keith for once again providing excellent facilities and giving great support towards the ladies sport.


Newcomers on the day did exceptional and they all enjoyed the experience and are looking forward to playing more competitions.  Anne O’Reilly from Joey’s reached her first quarter final and Valerie Maloney, Tina Keogh both from Portarlington Snooker Club made it through to the quarters and Leona O’Connor from Kilkenny also made her quarter final debut on the day.  Claire McRedmond from Portarlington S.C, reached the semi finals of the Intermediate event on her debut.  Other players such as Esther McCarroll have moved up to 5th on the National rankings and we saw young Laura Regan from Colaiste Chluan Meala in Tipperary take the Number 1 spot on the Intermediate rankings closely followed by Faye Jameson from the CBS Westland Row at number 2.


Our next Ranking event is on Saturday 22nd November 2014 in The Ivy Rooms Snooker Club, Carlow. Players wishing to enter must do so either by email to or phone 0857373305 by 8pm on Friday 21st November 2014.  Entry fee is €10 over 21’s and €6 for under 21’s  this includes entry to Intermediate Ranking for those knocked out at both the prelim and first round stages.  Dress code is dark slacks or leggings with blouse or approved Association polo shirt with comfortable shoes and checkin time is 10.45am.



Ronda Sheldreck (Fairview, Dublin)                      1      Faye Jameson (CBS Westland Row, Dublin)      0

Esther McCarroll (Joeys, Dublin)                            1     Zara Lawless  (CBS Westland Row, Dublin)        0

Caroline Crossan (Joeys, Dublin)                            1     Caitlin Tucker  (CBS Westland Row, Dublin)       0

Englentina Doda  (CBS Westland Row, Dublin)  1     Christine Carr (Sharkx, Newbridge, Kildare)       0

Anne O’Reilly (Joeys, Dublin)                                   1      Robyn Boyd  (CBS Westland Row, Dublin)          0

Laura Regan (Colaiste Chluan Meala, Tipperary) 1     Sharon Kazimba (Kilbarrack Youth Project)      0


Sandra Bryan (Breakers Gorey, Wexford)               1     Ronda Sheldreck (Fairview, Dublin)                    0

Valerie Maloney (Portarlington S.C. Laois)           1    Esther McCarroll (Joeys, Dublin)                          0

Leona O’Connor (Kilkenny)                                        1     Veronica Harvey (Portarlington S.C. Laois)      0

Emirjeta Doda (CBS Westland Row, Dublin)         1     Caroline Crossan (Joeys, Dublin)                         0

Margaret Browne (Royal S.C., Navan, Meath)      1      Englentina Doda (CBS Westland Row, Dublin) 0

Tina Keogh (Portarlington S.C. Laois)                     1     Leah Reilly (Kilbarrack Youth Project, Dublin)  0

Anne O’Reilly (Joeys, Dublin)                                    1     Claire McRedmond (Portarlington S.C. Laois)    0

Annette Newman (Griffith Club, Carlow)                1     Laura Regan (Colaiste Chluan Meala, Tipperary) 0


Sandra Bryan                                                              2        Valerie Maloney                               0

Emirjeta Doda                                                            2        Leona O’Connor                               0

Margaret Browne                                                       2       Tina Keogh                                         0

Annette Newman                                                       2       Anne O’Reilly                                     0



Sandra Bryan                                                              2      Emirjeta Doda                                     0

Annette Newman                                                       2      Margaret Browne                               0



Sandra Bryan                                                              2     Annette Newman                               1




Faye Jameson                               1                         Caitlin Tucker                      0

Ronda Sheldreck                          1                         Christine Carr                      0

Englentina Doda                          1                         Esther McCarroll                0

Claire McRedmond                      1                         Laura Regan                        0



Ronda Sheldreck                          1                        Faye Jameson                      0

Englentina Doda                          1                        Claire McRedmond             0



Ronda Sheldreck                        1                        Englentina Doda                  0