Andrei Deaconescu of Joeys Snooker Club Dublin won his second Stars Academy Title this season with a 3-1 win over the current U/17 Stars Champion also from Joeys Club.  A good field of 24 players took part in this event on Saturday 13th September and the standard of play was great and improving each year.  Jason O’Toole took the Plate event against stable mate Alan Payne both from the CBS Westland Row School in Dublin City Centre. Congratulations to Andrei on his fine win and to Aaron on his great performance on the day. Congrats to Jason O’Tool on winning the Plate event and to Alan Payne on reaching the plate final.

Andrei & Aaron Final jpg

This season Stars Academy Ireland have introduced a ranking list to help encourage more players out from the Schools and clubs to take part in competitive snooker at different levels.  The new ranking list will show the players on a National Ranking U/18 and a National Plate Ranking. From these ranking lists Stars Academy Ireland will show U/14 and U/16 National ranking lists during the season.  Players will be selected from these ranking to represent Ireland in International challenge events over the coming months and years along with qualification onto Stars Academy Ireland Scholarships in the future.

Dublin U18 Group 2 2014

Stars Academy Ireland will be introducing National Team Championships for these young players in 2015 and we envisage a number of Senior teams and Ladies team events to co-inside with these.  This is a new project for Stars Academy Ireland and we feel a very worthwhile one building the competitiveness through the smaller clubs and Schools/Colleges through this Country and helping to support and develop grass root snooker for the future. Thanks to Derek Fagan and staff of Joeys for their help and providing excellent facilities on the day.

Alan & Jason Plate Final



Aaron Holland (Joeys)                           2   Cian Costello (Sharkx)     0

Shane Comerford (CBS)                         2   Brandon Uzell (CBS)       0

Tom Ryan (Ivy Rooms)                           2   Glen Roche (CBS)            0

Keith Murphy (Sharkx)                           2   Jason O’Toole (CBS)       0

Sean O’Connor (Kilkenny)                     2   Beloy Nolasco (CBS)        0

TJ Sweeney (Sharkx)                               2   William Drysdale (CBS)  0

Tareek Payne (CBS)                                 2   Leon Costello (Sharkx)    0

Andrei deaconescu (Joeys)                     2   Jordan Crowe (Sharkx)   0



Aaron Holland                                          2   Shane Comerford             1

Keith Murphy                                           2   Tom Ryan                           0

TJ Sweeney                                               2   Sean O’Connor                  0

Andrei Deaconescu                                 2   Tareek Payne                      0



Aaron Holland                                         2   Keith Murphy                   0

Andrei Deaconescu                                 2   TJ Sweeney                       0


Andrei Deaconescu                                 3   Aaron Holland                 1



Andrei Deaconescu         27, 29, 30,34

Aaron Holland                 20, 26, 32